Upload size limits for visa and application portals

The largest file each official portal accepts, the formats it takes and the photo sizes it asks for, copied from the portal's own help pages, with a link to each source. Compress your PDF to fit right on this page.

Get it on Google Play

The tool above works in your browser: your files stay on your device and are not uploaded.

Document uploads (PDF and scans)

Limits are per file unless the row says otherwise, written as each portal writes them. We checked every row on the official page linked in the last column on 1 November 2026. Portals change these numbers, so open the source before you upload.

Document upload limits by portal, checked 1 November 2026
CountryPortalLargest fileFormatsSource
United StatesUSCIS online filing (evidence)12 MBPDF, JPG, JPEG (some forms also TIFF)USCIS
United KingdomUCAS (university applications)5 MB per document, up to 30 documentsPDF, JPG, PNG, DOC, DOCX, ODT (not iPhone HEIC)UCAS
CanadaIRCC online accounts4 MB in most accounts; 5 MB in the IRCC PortalNot stated on that pageIRCC Help Centre
AustraliaImmiAccount (visa and citizenship)5 MBPDF, JPG, PNG, DOC, DOCX and more; no zipped or password-protected filesHome Affairs
AustraliaImmiCard application form10 MB for all attachments togetherNot stated on that pageHome Affairs
New ZealandSkilled Migrant Category applicationUnder 3 MBPDF (photos JPG)Immigration NZ
New ZealandEmployer job check (AEWV)10 MBNot stated on that pageImmigration NZ
NetherlandsIND online applicationsUnder 8 MB; 40 MB for all documents togetherPDF without a password, JPGIND
GermanyService Berlin: residence permit for studies7 MB; 100 MB in totalPDF, JPG, JPEG, PNGService Berlin
United Arab EmiratesFederal Tax Authority: VAT registration15 MB per documentPDF onlyFTA
United Arab EmiratesFederal Tax Authority: VAT deregistration5 MB per filePDF, Excel, Word, JPG, JPEG, PNGFTA
United Arab EmiratesFederal Tax Authority: private tax clarification request5 MB per filePDF, Excel, JPG, JPEG, PNGFTA
United Arab EmiratesMinistry of Foreign Affairs: UAE MOFA app forms1 MB per attachmentNot stated on that pageMOFA
United Arab EmiratesMinistry of Foreign Affairs: digital attestationNot statedThe original digital PDF, not a scan; it must open and must not be password-protectedMOFA
United Arab EmiratesDubai Culture: cultural visa (copies of passport, visa and Emirates ID)4 MB per filePDF onlyDubai Culture
United Arab EmiratesDubai Culture: cultural visa (portfolio, CV, certificates)10 MB per filePDF onlyDubai Culture

The UAE has no single limit: each authority sets its own, so check the service you are using. New Zealand sets its limit form by form, and Germany's applies to the Berlin city service only, not to every German visa. Studielink in the Netherlands takes no uploads at all: your documents go to the university itself.

Photo uploads

Digital photo limits by portal, checked 1 November 2026
CountryWhat forFile sizePixelsFormatSource
United StatesVisa (DS-160)240 kB or lessSquare, 600 × 600 to 1200 × 1200JPEGtravel.state.gov
United KingdomVisa or permission50 KB to 6 MBAt least 600 wide × 750 tallJPGGOV.UK
United KingdomPassport (online)50 KB to 10 MBAt least 600 wide × 750 tallJPEGGOV.UK
CanadaPassport (online renewal)200 KB to 5 MB1,200 × 1,800 to 3,000 × 4,500, portraitJPEGCanada.ca
CanadaPermanent resident card4 MB or less715 × 1000 to 2000 × 2800JPGCanada.ca
CanadaInternational Experience CanadaIdeally 240 kB, not under 60 kBAt least 420 × 540JPEG or JPEG2000Canada.ca
AustraliaImmiCard facial image500 KB or less1200 × 1600, portraitJPEGHome Affairs
AustraliaCitizenship: photo of the authorised person500 KB or lessNot statedJPGHome Affairs
United Arab EmiratesPassport and Emirates ID (ICP)Not stated onlinePrinted size 3.5 × 4.5 cm, white background, ICAO rulesNot statedICP
SingaporeICA e-Services8 MB or less400 × 514JPG, JPEG, PNG, HEIC, HEIFICA

A photo that meets the size but not the pixel rules is still rejected, so check both. To bring a photo under a KB limit, use the photo to KB tool.

Uploading in the UAE

For a passport or Emirates ID, ICP asks for a recent colour photo, 3.5 × 4.5 cm, on a white background, that follows the ICAO photo rules. ICP and GDRFA Dubai do not publish a KB or pixel limit for photos on their public pages, so the upload screen of the service you use is the place to check. Numbers you see on other websites for these photos do not agree with each other, so we do not repeat them here.

Two UAE rules catch people out. The Federal Tax Authority takes only PDF for VAT registration documents, up to 15 MB each, and 5 MB per file for deregistration. And MOFA digital attestation needs the original digital PDF without a password: if your PDF is locked, remove the password first with unlock PDF, using the password you were given, and attest the original file, not a scan.

In Dubai, the cultural visa form of Dubai Culture takes PDF files only: up to 4 MB each for copies of the passport, the current visa and the Emirates ID, and up to 10 MB each for a portfolio, CV or certificates.

Make a file fit the limit

  1. Find the limit for your portal in the tables above, then open the source to confirm it.
  2. In the tool at the top of this page, choose your PDF and type the limit. Aim a little under it: for "5 MB", type 4,900 KB.
  3. Download the result and check its size in your file manager before you upload.

If the tool says the smallest readable size is above your limit, the file has too much in it for that size. Split it into parts with split a PDF, if the portal lets you upload several files, or scan the pages again at a lower resolution. To switch between MB and KB, use the MB to KB converter.

Why portals set limits, and why they differ

Every upload is stored and checked by a person or a system, so portals cap the size to keep their storage and review time manageable. Each country writes its own rules, and some set them per form, per account or per city. That is why the same visa can have different limits in two places, and why we name the exact portal in every row.

We are not connected to any of these governments, universities or portals. This page is a convenience, not an official list. If you find a number that has changed, tell us through the contact page and we will check and update it.

Questions

What is the photo size for a US visa application?

For the DS-160 the U.S. Department of State asks for a square JPEG of 240 kB or less, between 600 × 600 and 1200 × 1200 pixels.

What is the file size limit for IRCC uploads?

It depends on the account: 4 MB in most IRCC accounts, including the secure account and the online citizenship application, and 5 MB in the IRCC Portal.

How big can a document be on ImmiAccount?

5 MB per file. Zipped and password-protected files are not accepted.

What is the file size limit for UAE government uploads?

There is no single UAE limit. The Federal Tax Authority allows 15 MB per PDF for VAT registration and 5 MB per file for deregistration and clarification requests, and forms in the UAE MOFA app allow 1 MB per attachment.

What is the upload size limit in Dubai?

It depends on the service. On the Dubai Culture cultural visa form, passport, visa and Emirates ID copies can be up to 4 MB each and a portfolio, CV or certificates up to 10 MB each, all as PDF. GDRFA Dubai does not publish a KB limit for photos.

Is 5 MB the same as 5,000 KB?

Not always. Some portals count 1 MB as 1,000 KB and others as 1,024 KB. A file just under 5,000 KB passes both, which is why we suggest aiming a little under the limit.

Are my files uploaded when I use the tool on this page?

No. The compressor runs in your browser, so the file stays on your device.